“Chasing Cars" by Snow Patrol

We’ll do it all
Everything
On our own

We don’t need
Anything
Or anyone

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

I don’t quite know
How to say
How I feel

Those three words
Are said too much
They’re not enough

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

Forget what we’re told
Before we get too old
Show me a garden that’s bursting into life

Let’s waste time
Chasing cars
Around our heads

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

Forget what we’re told
Before we get too old
Show me a garden that’s bursting into life

All that I am
All that I ever was
Is here in your perfect eyes, they’re all I can see

I don’t know where
Confused about how as well
Just know that these things will never change for us at all

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?


收錄於[Eyes Open]專輯
 


一直都對太過風花雪月的歌詞很感冒, 而對極為單純的情歌情有獨鍾
就像 Joel Plaskett Emergency 那一首熱鬧到不行、帶有加拿大東岸民歌風的歌裡說:

You say you’ve got nowhere that you’re going to.
Can I go nowhere with you?

好直率而簡單的愛情啊! 偏偏只存在於歌裡, 唉…

About Alice

I am a Taiwanese-Canadian who lived in Toronto for 18 years and then decided to explore the west coast and moved to British Columbia. My interests include science, technology, movies, music, theatre and literature. I am always curious about how things work. I hope I can turn this curiosity into my passion about life and the world around us!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 則回應給 “Chasing Cars" by Snow Patrol

  1. Kathy Y.K. 說:

    呵… 除了感慨~  還是再追尋呀!
     
    Can I go nowhere with you?
    就像是彼此已經在心中哪兒也不必去也~
    夫復何求呢…  所以不需感概呀
    你的感慨比較像是心未有所屬的啊

  2. Alice 說:

    Kathy, 妳有沒有發現? 這兩首歌裡面, 最重要的一句歌詞, 都是問句的形式
     
    感情的事, 只要超過兩個人的範圍, 有時甚至是一個人以外的世界, 就不一定簡單了我可以盡情去追求我想要的, 不過我只能提問, 答案又會是如何呢?
    既然是感慨, 那當然是沒用的啊! 可是人常常在做沒用的事, 對吧?

  3. Kathy Y.K. 說:

    你要簡單直率的感情
    就勇敢地 直接去要吧
     
    感慨.. 又有什麼用呢~

發表迴響

