面試 My First Formal Interview

昨天我經歷了第一次正式的面試, 沒有想像中的恐怖, 算是個有趣的經驗。
 
星期三在Co-op辦公室的告示版上看到自己的名字, 反而有點不敢相信, 發現星期五就要正式面試了, 心裡更是緊張。老姊跟我說了一些要注意的事情, 我也在前一天晚上臨時惡補一些公司常問的問題, 當天早上還在準備要帶的東西, 結果本來要提早出門的, 又混到迫在眉睫才在車上緊張。
 
星期四多倫多下了今年第一次大雪(注意, 是大雪, 事實上已飄過兩次小雪了), 晚上花了一個半小時才從學校回到家, 週五早上可想而知街上的泥濘混亂, 我在401公路上乾著急, 再一次後悔所有讓我陷入如此困境的人為因素, 更慘的是到了密西沙加市之後還走錯方向, 一直到了湖邊的大街才掉頭狂飆(我在有壓力的時候開車技術還滿不錯的嘛!), 還好最後在一點整到達了目的地。
 
在reception desk等了一會兒, 不久就見到QA Manager引領我到會議室面試, 她首先簡單介紹了他們公司的歷史和工作內容, 然後就開始問許多有關我的工作經驗和現在學校課程的問題, 大部分的問題我還能從容流利地回答, 但我沒想到大部分的問題問到實驗課的細節, 三個星期前做的實驗我有點忘了, 所以一緊張, 回答得有些籠統, 另外那200%會問的"Tell me about yourself."我也沒有講出我想說的重點, 這大概都是因為準備不充足的關係。 整個面試大概花了半小時, 離開時我說和她一席談話讓我更了解這個職務的內容, 比僅僅看著徵才廣告有趣的多, 不知道算不算畫蛇添足… 
 
老師說星期五下午是最糟的面試時間, 因為大家想著放假, 所以無心聽人說話, 若果真如此, 希望我的表現至少還能留下好印象, 不管如何, 這都是個寶貴的經驗, 希望多次演練之後能不再緊張, 從容地表現自己。
 

Things to improve on:

  1. Be on time. If not sure about the location of the company, hit the road earlier.
  2. Prepare for the questions well. Practice the frequently asked questions like "Tell me about yourself." or "What makes you suitable for the position?"
  3. Be ready to answer questions related to working experiences and courses taken. Read the course outline to refresh memories.

About Alice

I am a Taiwanese-Canadian who lived in Toronto for 18 years and then decided to explore the west coast and moved to British Columbia. My interests include science, technology, movies, music, theatre and literature. I am always curious about how things work. I hope I can turn this curiosity into my passion about life and the world around us!
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 則回應給 面試 My First Formal Interview

  1. Sandy 說:

    Hey: Dun worry. I hope the new resume helps – I have a feeling that you\’ll get a placement there. The interview there isn\’t going to be so scary, either!

  2. Alice 說:

    Alright, I didn\’t get the job.I deleted the feedback in haste, but it was something like:Alice Wang — Intelligent. I was wondering if she was into this field. I was not sure if this was the best placement for her.Guess I shouldn\’t have answered so honestly and said that I\’d decide if I was going into pharma or food after taking more courses😦

  3. Ann 說:

    uhhhh I hate interviews.😦

發表迴響

